Advocacy and Thought Leadership

The George Institute is focused on effective advocacy and thought leadership to improve health, aligned to our research goals.

We are engaging with key stakeholders, sharing insights and fostering discussions to stimulate debate, guide critical health policy decisions and facilitate evidence-based change.

By working with some of the world’s leading health voices we are amplifying our work in non-communicable diseases (NCDs) and injury and improving systems for prevention and treatment.

Our activities

On 24 May 2023, the United Nations (UN) presented the Zero Draft of the Political Declaration on Universal Health Coverage (UHC). The document, which is the first version of the commitments on…
News
Full sized infographic Full sized infographic Full sized infographic   .column { float: left; width: 50%; } .row:after { content: ""; display: table; clear: both; }
Landing Page
The George Institute for Global Health is working with local and international regulatory bodies to advocate for best practice in clinical trials. This means: Ensure adequate and timely recruitment…
Policy and Practice Reports
To mark International Clinical Trials Day, Clare Arnott, Co-director of the Better Treatments program at The George Institute, shares her thoughts on the impact of the pandemic, current trends and…
Profile story
Managing work-life balance, family and career are key challenges that disproportionately affect women, influence choices about the work they do, and the path for their careers. In this episode of The…
Podcast
The George Institute for Global Health is pleased to respond to the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) on the Transforming Australian Food Systems: Discussion Paper…
Policy and Practice Reports
The George Institute for Global Health is pleased to contribute a submission to the Western Australian Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries on the consultation for the Next…
Policy and Practice Reports
The George Institute for Global Health is pleased to contribute a written submission to Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) on ‘Proposal P1059: Energy Labelling on Alcoholic Beverages’. The…
Policy and Practice Reports
Join us in this fireside chat, featuring guest María Fernanda Espinosa and host Dr Justin Koonin. Tuesday May 16th 4pm AEST Sydney, 2pm CST China, 11.30am IST India, 8am CET, 7am GMT Created with key…
Event
Highlights from a special ‘Tea with Africa’ webinar, held for Word Kidney Day. The topic discussed is 'Chronic Kidney Disease in Africa: Lived experiences and opportunities for improving systems of…
Podcast