Professor Stephen Macmahon announced as finalist for Australian leadership in innovation and science prize

Co-founder and Principal Director of The George Institute for Global Health, Professor Stephen MacMahon, has been selected as a finalist for the prestigious Eureka Prize for Leadership in Innovation and Science.

The Australian Museum Eureka Prizes reward excellence and outstanding achievement in the fields of leadership, research and innovation, and are the country’s most comprehensive annual science awards.

“I am delighted to be recognised alongside such remarkable peers for an award that celebrates the role and impact of great leadership in science. In my work with The George Institute for Global Health, I help champion our commitment to developing evidence-based preventive and treatment approaches for the most common chronic conditions, and guide an exceptional team to achieve this,” said Professor MacMahon.

Of the 7½ billion people in the world, around half have one or more long-term medical conditions such as diabetes, hypertension or depression. Many have no reliable access to effective medical care. Under Professor MacMahon’s leadership, The George Institute is changing this state of play to improve the health of people the world over, with core offices in Australia, China, India and the United Kingdom.

“Professor Stephen MacMahon is an outstanding global investigator in the field of cardiovascular medicine with a truly remarkable record of academic achievement, encompassing both discovery and translation, that ranks him at the very top of this field worldwide. He is a true champion for innovative strategies to combat chronic diseases at a global level and for focussing on disadvantageous populations both in Australia and worldwide,” said Professor John Chalmers, of the University of New South Wales.

Previous winners of the Eureka Prize for Leadership in Innovation and Science include Professor Michelle Haber of the Children’s Cancer Institute and UNSW, and Professor Salah Sukkarieh of the University of Sydney.

This year’s winner will be announced at an awards ceremony and dinner on Wednesday 28 August at Sydney Town Hall. For more information, please visit the Australian Museum website and for updates, follow @georgeinstitute with #EurekaPrize on Twitter. 

For media enquiries contact:

Tina Wall, Senior Media Advisor, Australia         
The George Institute for Global Health
P: +61 410 411 983